The bakery takeover!

Stone fruit clafoutis

After going on a binge with the hazelnuts and posting the creations in the past two entries, I promised myself that I would stay away from anything nutty.  Promise kept!

We did buy more peaches, nectarines, and plums than we thought could seriously eat in a week and some of them were already starting to get soft.  It doesn’t take long when they’re out at room temperature, even with the mild weather in Boston this week.  The only reasonable course of action was to bake the softer ones up into a classic clafoutis!

IMG_4003

I found a simple recipe and doctored it up with a little ground star anise and ground ginger to bring out the flavors of the fruit.  Stone fruit are wonderful in that they pair well with a lot of the warmer spices like cinnamon and nutmeg that we’ll all be using as we move into the fall baking season, so I like to see this as a preview of what is to come.  I decided to do something a little different and use the underrated aforementioned spices.  And yes, rebels, the batter was thick and rich with the spices asserting themselves but not overpowering the beautiful stone fruit.  It baked up into a not-too-sweet cakey, fruity treat that seems to encapsulate what late summer is all about.  I’m looking forward to having some for breakfast tomorrow morning!

IMG_4014

It’s easy to default to baking something chocolatey when one wants something sweet.  However, if you take a look around and see the bounty that’s in the supermarkets and farm stands at this time of year, why wouldn’t you whip up an easy batch of late summer fruitiness?IMG_4027

Enjoy!

This entry was published on August 19, 2014 at 11:03 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Food, Food photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Stone fruit clafoutis

  1. John, your photography is amazing! And I’m glad I’ve stumbled upon your blog as I have an affinity for baked goods. Looking forward to keeping up with your blog! 🙂

    This isn’t a bakery, but I recently visited a coffee shop here in Berlin and thought perhaps you may enjoy my food photography as well!:

    http://www.rotten-one.com/journal/2014/7/27/silo-coffee-berlin

    Like

    • Tee, thanks for the comment! I have been working on both my photography and my baking skills, so this blog is a way toindulge both and share it with whoever stops by.

      Your photos are great! I love the airiness and the ethereal sense about them. I’ll be following along too!

      Like

  2. very nice images…i can never use so many props and make it look good…wow..

    Like

Leave a Reply

