The bakery takeover!

Upside-down apple spice cake

What I really wanted to bake was something chocolatey and cakey but I was all out of any sort of baking chocolate and I was too lazy to run out to the store and get more.  (The stormy weather this past weekend didn’t help my motivation much either.)  What I did have was apples, and plenty of them – just begging to be baked into a cake.  Apple spice cake, sure; but I wanted to find a recipe that was just a little bit out of the ordinary.

IMG_5150

I love the flavor of molasses and spice – you get earthiness and an indescribable metallic-ness from the molasses and warmth from the spices.  When combined in a simple upside-down cake with caramelized apples, you end up with a delicious fall treat that’s rustic, a little bit unusual, and tasty as all get-out.  This cake was polished off by the three of us in just about a day.  I was surprised that it lasted that long.

Short post today – I’ve been battling a cold, too.  Nothing major, but I hope it’s not a prelude of things to come.  Maybe a few days at home sick from work and baking will be a nice mini-vacation – time will tell!  A long winter awaits…

This entry was published on November 5, 2014 at 11:20 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Cake, Food photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Upside-down apple spice cake

  1. What a lovely cake! I love the pictures too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

