The bakery takeover!

Coconut cream mini bundt cakes with chocolate ganache

Some of my baking endeavors are more a mission to use up some of the ingredients that have been sitting in the fridge and need to be used before they go off.  This is one such endeavor.

IMG_5229

This is a hard time of year to do anything but holiday-related baking.  Pies, cakes, tortes, scones, muffins; they all tend to have some combination of pumpkin, cranberries, and/or walnuts.  I love them all and I love this time of year, but sometimes it’s nice to break out of the holiday theme and bake something that’s not labelled as “Thanksgiving X” or “Christmas Y.”

IMG_5222

So, two birds fed with one bird feeder, as a boss of mine used to (and probably does still) say.  I found a recipe online that I could base my own cakelets on and used my mini bundt pan for the first time!  I ended up halving the recipe and got twelve mini bundt cakes.  The coconut cream cheese frosting sounded delicious, but I like chocolate with my coconut and decided to make a dark chocolate ganache (I considered white chocolate but couldn’t find any at the supermarket) to smear over the tops of these lovelies.  (An aside: chocolate melted in warm cream and spread over a cake – so simple but so decadent!  Whoever invented ganache should be given a medal.) A little toasted coconut to garnish, and voila!  A tasty little dessert or snack (I’m about to have one after I finish this post!) that isn’t holiday themed but welcome nonetheless.

IMG_5218

Bake some for yourself and enjoy some non-holiday goodness!

IMG_5221

This entry was published on November 26, 2014 at 1:50 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Cake, Chocolate, Food photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Coconut cream mini bundt cakes with chocolate ganache

  1. So cute and lovely! *tummy rumbles*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking delicious as always :)!

    Like

  3. I have to say, i was slightly sleepy when i opened the page, but my eyes opened wide as soon as i saw the pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

